New and Noteworty:

  • 2014: Maarten Drost was inducted into the Cattle Production Veterinarian Hall of Fame (more info)
  • 2014: UF/IFAS Research Team Finds New Treatment for Uterine Diseases in Cattle (more info)
  • Kyle Dobbs (PhD student, Animal Sciences) won the best poster award at the 2014 Annual Conference of the International Embryo Transfer Society for his paper entitled “Gender-specific developmental programming of the bovine embryo by colony stimulating factor 2 (CSF2)”. He is also the recipient of the 2014 Graduate Research Award from the UF Chapter of Sigma Xi.
  • William Thatcher and Peter Hansen (both in the Department of Animal Sciences) are the 2014 recipients of the Carl G Hartman Award (Thatcher) and SSR Research Award (Hansen). For more information, please see http://www.ssr.org/awards.
  • John Bromfield of Animal Sciences has joined our group:http://animal.ifas.ufl.edu/amcb/faculty/bromfield.shtml.

More Awards and Recognitions of Our Members:

Chris Baylis, PhD

  • 2012 Mayerson-Deluzio Lecture, Department of Physiology, Tulane University
  • 2011 Harriet Dustan Award, Council for High Blood Pressure Research, American Heart Association
  • 2011 University of Florida, College of Medicine: Education Incentive Award
  • 2010 – 2013 University of Florida Research Foundation Professorship Award
  • 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011 University of Florida, College of Medicine: Exemplary Teacher Award

Martin J. Cohn, PhD

  • 2009 – 2015 Howard Hughes Medical Institute Early Career Scientist Award
  • 2009 – 2012 University of Florida Research Foundation Professorship

Kirk P. Conrad, MD

  • 2010 Ernest H. Starling Distinguished Lectureship of the American Physiological Society Water & Electrolyte Homeostasis Section
  • 2010 Liley Lecturer, Perinatal Research Society
  • 2010 Senior Faculty Research Award University of Florida Chapter Sigma XI

Klibs Galvão, DVM, MPVM, PhD, DACT

  • 2013 Excellence Award for Assistant Professors, University of Florida (more info)

Peter J. Hansen, PhD

  • 2010 Trainee Mentoring Award, Society for the Study of Reproduction
  • 2010 Land O’Lakes Award, American Dairy Science Association
  • 2010 Distinguished Service Award, American Society for Reproductive Immunology
  • 2009 Fellow, American Dairy Science Association

G. Cliff Lamb, PhD

  • 2009 American Society of Animal Science Early Career Achievement Award

Connie J. Mulligan, PhD

  • 2012 – 2013 Elizabeth Wood Dunlevie Honors Term Professor
  • 2009 – 2010 Howard Hughes Medical Institute Distinguished Mentor Award

Alice Rhoton-Vlasak, MD

  • 1998 – 2007, 2009 – 2011 University of Florida College of Medicine Golden Apple Award, presented to outstanding teachers by the medical students

José Eduardo P. Santos, DVM, PhD

  • 2012 Gamma Sigma Delta Junior Faculty Award
  • 2010 Food Animal Speaker of the Year by the North American Veterinary Conference
  • 2009 Physiology Award by the American Dairy Science Association